City of Wills Point

120 N. 5th Street – P.O. Box 505
Wills Point, Texas 75169
Phone 903-873-2578, Fax 903-873-5512
After Hours Emergency Phone – 903-873-3317
Office Hours Monday – Friday, 8 am – 5 pm (Closed 12 pm – 1 pm for Lunch)

The City of Wills Point is a Type A-General Law City, with a population of 3,524.  The City Council consists of a Mayor and 5 City Council members.  Wills Point City Council meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at the Van Zandt County Annex located at 145 N. 5th Street, Wills Point unless otherwise noted.

Mayor & City Council

Mark Turner, Mayor
Mike Jones, Mayor Pro-Tem
Randy Adams, Council Member
Kyle Anderson, Council Member
Oscar Rogers, Council Member
Sherry Walker, Council Member

City Departments

Mike Ohrt, City Manager
Carla Oldacre, City Secretary
Pam Pearson, Economic Development Administrator
Janna Ramsey, Finance Director
Ed Leipply, Fire Chief
Dana Clair, Human Resources
Rachel Ramsey, Municipal Court Presiding Judge
Scott Johnson, Police Chief
Scott Drake, Public Works Director


Tax rate per $100 assessed value City of Wills Point                    $0.007
Tax rate per $100 assessed value Wills Point Independent School District            $0.01145
Tax rate per $100 assessed value Van Zandt County                    $0.00470065

Sales Tax
Municipal Sales Tax   1.5%
Economic Development Sales Tax   .5%
State Sales Tax    6.25%

July 2013